Sir Gawain & the Green Knight

Pure bro and green bro

My next live reading of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight will happen on January 1, 2022. It will start at 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. GMT and go for about three hours. If you'd like, you can hop over to YouTube and subscribe for notifications, which will make a little alert pop up on your computer when I go live on New Year's Day.

This will be my fifth consecutive year offering a live reading of this rollicking 14th-century adventure. I’m going to do it every Christmastime until I’m dead.

Why Sir Gawain and the Green Knight?

As I wrote to my email subscribers:

One surprise, for me, was the wintriness of the tale. It begins at Christmastime in Camelot; the titular green giant makes his entrance just as King Arthur and all his knights are beginning their holiday feast. The whole story plays out in what I think of as English Midwinter Mode: that same blend of vibes, Christian and pagan and deeper, that propels so many of the books that are my all-time favorites, including but not limited to Susan Cooper’s The Dark is Rising and Nicola Griffith’s Hild.

How long will this reading take?

A few hours, with breaks.

Will there be a recording?

There will not. The reason I’m able to get permission to do these readings is that they are ephemeral, and thus do not compete with the official audiobooks.

Who drew the illustration above?

That’s the work of Ryan V. Lower, of course!


The main thing to do here is sign up for my email newsletter, which is infrequent and wide-ranging. It goes out to around 18,000 people, but/and I try to make it feel like a note from a friend: